JOYN Legal Mauritius – African Desk

Since 2010, JOYN Tax has developed a practice centered on African countries, with a particular focus on Mauritius and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Our African office is located in Ebene, Republic of Mauritius.

Joyn Legal Mauritius - African desk

Joyn Legal Mauritius was established in April 2017 by Benoît Philippart de Foy and Antoine Dayez and, on September 1, 2017 has obtained the very first “Global Legal Advisory Services” license delivered by the Financial Service Commission of Mauritius. Our African desk is currently composed of six lawyers including two partners.

Joyn Legal Mauritius is specializing in rendering the following services:

  • advisory services about Mauritian Tax Law ;
  • advisory services in relation with wealth management for residents of African countries ;
  • advisory services about Republic Democratic of Congo’s Tax Law ;
  • assisting in the analysis and the declaration of the Belgian Tax on Stock Exchange Transaction (« TOB » / « Beurstaks ») for Belgian residents holders of a foreign bank account ; 

 

Republic of Mauritius

The Republic of Mauritius is aiming to play a role in Africa similar to the one Singapore plays in Asia : a center of excellence for professional and financial services.

We advise clients about the structuration of their Mauritian and African activities, using exclusively domestic (onshore) companies subject to Mauritian Tax. Conversely we do not advise about so-called “offshore” companies (licence GBL1 or GBL2). We do however seek to use the extended Double Tax Treaties network developed by Mauritius and the available domestic Mauritian tax credits in order to avoid double taxation and minimize the tax burden on transnational operations.

 

Wealth management for residents of African countries 

With regards to wealth management, we have developed our practice alongside two axis :

- on the one hand we advise private individuals who are residents in African countries on the way to structure their assets and investments ;

- on the other hand we advise financial institutions (banks and insurance companies) outside of Africa on the rules governing the opening of contractual relationship with African residents and on the tax obligations of their clients who are African residents when these clients hold, directly or indirectly, assets in foreign countries.

 

Democratic Republic of Congo

Since 2010 already we have been giving advices to clients who have activities in the DRC on the way to structure their activities in compliance with their tax obligations. We place a special emphasis on non-residents taxation and Value Added Tax which are applicable to services rendered from abroad to DRC-based enterprises.

We have also been advising economic operators in the DRC on matters as diverse as Insurance Law, compliance with Anti Money Laundering regulations and rules about sub-contracting.

Our approach is both rigorous and solutions-oriented within a legal environment in constant evolution.

 

Belgian Tax on Stock Exchange Transactions

Since 2017, Belgian tax residents who are holding securities accounts in foreign countries are directly liable to declare and pay the Tax on Stock Exchange Transactions (Taxe sur les Opérations de Bourse / Beurstaks). Joyn Legal Mauritius has developed a special expertise regarding this tax and proposes its services to analyze the taxable operations and file the TSET-returns.

These services are generally proposed to all banks wishing to offer to its clients a flexible and efficient solution to comply with their TSET obligations.

Joyn Legal Mauritius - African desk

JOYN Legal Mauritius – African Desk

JOYN Tax a développé depuis 2010 une pratique fiscale axée sur les pays Africains, avec un focus particulier sur l’Ile Maurice et la République Démocratique du Congo.

Notre bureau Africain est depuis 2017 situé à Ebène, en République de Maurice.

Joyn Legal Mauritius - African desk

Joyn Legal Maurice a été créé en avril 2017 par Benoît Philippart de Foy et Antoine Dayez et a obtenu le 1er septembre 2017 la toute première licence pour fournir des « Global Legal Advisory Services » à l’Ile Maurice, délivrée par la Financial Services Commission. Il est composé de six avocats, dont deux associés.

Joyn Legal Maurice fournit les services suivants :

  • conseil en matière de fiscalité mauricienne ;
  • conseil en matière de fiscalité patrimoniale pour les résidents de pays d’Afrique ;
  • conseils en fiscalité de la République démocratique du Congo ;
  • assistance à l’analyse et à la déclaration de la Taxe sur Opérations de Bourse (TOB) pour les belges disposant de comptes-titres à l’étranger.

 

République de Maurice

La République de Maurice veut jouer en Afrique un rôle similaire à celui de Singapore en Asie : un centre d’excellence pour les services financiers et professionnels.

Nous conseillons nos clients en matière de structuration de leurs activités à Maurice et en Afrique, en ayant recours exclusivement aux sociétés « domestiques », soumises à l’impôt mauricien, à l’exclusion des sociétés dites « offshore » (licences GBL1 ou GBL2). Nous utilisons en revanche les traités fiscaux signés par Maurice et la législation mauricienne interne en matière de crédit d’impôts pour éviter la double imposition et minimiser la charge fiscale sur les opérations transfrontières.

 

Fiscalité patrimoniale des résidents des pays Africain

En matière de fiscalité patrimoniale, nous avons développé une pratique suivant deux axes :

- d’une part, nous conseillons des individus résidents de pays africains sur la façon de structurer leur patrimoine et leurs investissements ;

- d’autre part, nous conseillons des institutions financières (banques et compagnies d’assurance) établies en dehors de ces pays sur les règles leur permettant d’établir des relations contractuelles avec des résidents africains et sur les obligations fiscales de leurs clients résidents africains, lorsque ceux-ci détiennent, directement ou indirectement, des fonds à l’étranger.

 

République Démocratique du Congo

Depuis 2010, nous conseillons nos clients actifs en RDC sur la façon de structurer leurs activités dans le respect de leurs obligations déclaratives et contributives en RDC. Nous sommes particulièrement attentifs à l’impôt des non-résidents et à la TVA qui touchent les services fournis depuis l’étranger aux entreprises de la RDC.

Nous conseillons également les opérateurs économiques en RDC sur des matières aussi diverses que le droit des assurances, la conformité aux règles anti-blanchiment, ou encore la loi sur la sous-traitance.

Notre approche se veut rigoureuse au regard des règles et très pragmatique dans un environnement légal et fiscal délicat et mouvant.

 

La Taxe sur les Opérations de Bourse

Depuis 2017 les résidents belges détenteurs de comptes-titres à l’étranger doivent eux-mêmes déclarer et payer la Taxe sur les Opérations de Bourse (TOB). Disposant d’une expertise particulière en la matière Joyn Legal Maurice propose des services d’assistance à l’analyse des opérations imposables et de déclaration.

Ces services sont généralement proposés à toute banque qui souhaite offrir à ses clients résidents belges une solution souple et efficace pour s’assurer du respect des obligations légales en la matière.